Dyson Racing logged its first win in the American Le Man Series running on bio-derived isobutanol fuel provided by BP. Chris Dyson and Guy Smith won the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Challenge in the #16 Castrol Mazda Lola coupe, setting a new race record. Dyson set the car’s fastest lap four laps from the end.

The all-new Mazda AER (Advanced Engine Research) engine is based on the MZR-R. The 2.0 liter, four-cylinder in-line turbocharged engine delivers more than 500 hp (373 kW) and more than 400 lb-ft (542 N&iddot;m) of torque.
Combining very low mass with a small physical footprint, the engine is the smallest, lightest and most compact in LMP racing today and there are no external belt drives or ancillaries. The camshafts, water pump and oil pump are internally driven by gears.

The current B09/86 LMP Coupe is a one-piece carbon composite monocoque and is certified to ACO and FIA structural standards through 2012. The body panels are lightweight pre-preg carbon composite construction. The suspension is double wishbone with pushrod/rocker-activated coil spring/adjustable damper units all around. The six-speed sequential gearbox is lightweight cast magnesium and is designed to allow complete changes of gear ratios in ten minutes without losing any oil.